US Soccer

U.S. Soccer to Host CONCACAF Qualifying Tournament for 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup

CHICAGO (May 15, 2014) – U.S. Soccer will host the CONCACAF qualifying tournament for the upcoming 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. The qualifying tournament will take place this October with the format, schedule, venues and ticket information to be announced at a later date.

The two finalists and the winner of the third-place match qualify directly for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada. The fourth-place team will enter a playoff with a team from South America for a chance to earn a final berth.

The U.S. last hosted a Women’s World Cup qualifying tournament in 2006 in Miami and Carson, California. In 2002, the U.S. split hosting responsibilities with Canada with games played in Fullerton and Pasadena, California, Seattle, Washington and Victoria, Canada.

Before qualification begins for the U.S. WNT and new head coach Jill Ellis, the team will play two matches against France on June 14 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida [TICKETS], and June 19 at Rentschler Field in East Hartford, Connecticut [TICKETS]. Both matches kick off at 7:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast live on ussoccer.com. Fans can also follow both games on Twitter @ussoccer_wnt.

Read more
WNT May 16, 2014



Date Matchup Result Venue Attendance Goal Scorers
4-1 W Shanghai Hongkou Football Stadium; Shanghai, China 34,000 Wambach (2), Chalupny, O'Reilly
0-4 L Hangzhou Dragon Stadium; Hangzhou, China 47,818 --
3-0 W Tianjin Olympic Center Stadium; Tianjin, China 29,586 Wambach, Boxx, Lilly
1-0 W Shanghai Hongkou Football Stadium; Shanghai, China 6,500 Chalupny
2-0 W Cape Town International Convention Center; Chengdu, China 30,500 Wambach (2)
2-2 D Cape Town International Convention Center; Chengdu, China 35,100 Wambach, O'Reilly